Welcome to the official web page of Frank Woelfer. All important information about the guitarist, composer and teacher Frank Woelfer can be found here.

MULTIVERSE is out now!

MULTIVERSE, my third album, is out now. You can buy the album for example on Amazon, Hört sich gut an (Bielefeld, Germany) or at the Musikgalerie Gütersloh (Germany). Also you can listen to the MULTIVERSE-album by streaming or downloading on TIDAL, iTunes, Spotify,...
Read more

New reviews

My new album The Human Factor will be presented, along with Al Jarreau, Hiromi & Simon Phillips & Anthony Jackson and Lalo Schifrin, in the current episode of Jazzrock TV (episode no. 84). Quotation from this programme: “… this has really bowled us over … one...
Read more

Frank Woelfer on SoundCloud

As of late I can also be found on the music portal SoundCloud with a few selected pieces and extra arranged tracks. Drop by and check it out under: https://soundcloud.com/frank-woelfer
Read more

Nominated four times, three times 1st place at the German Rock & Pop Awards, 2014

I attended this year’s German Rock & Pop Awards with four nominations. Yesterday the award ceremony took place at the Siegerlandhalle (event centre) in Siegen. The pleasant result was: 3rd place in the category “Best Instrumental Album 2014” (for my second solo...
Read more

Songs from my albums on the radio

The internet radio station ByteFM presented the songs “Forgiveness” and “Touch” in the programme In Between Ears on Saturday the 4th of April, 2015. In addition, “Touch” was played several times on the German radio station Deutschlandradio Kultur. Pieces from The...
Read more

Frank Woelfer on TIDAL

On TIDAL you can now also stream my music – if you like even in CD quality. The music portal TIDAL is on the whole very recommendable, especially the subscription with lossless audio. By the way, you can also find Univerve there! http://listen.tidal.com In addition...
Read more

Update August, 2016

Dear visitor to this page, thank you for your interest in my artistic activities. It is time for some news again: in the meantime I have been working on my third album for over a year now, whereby I must say that getting used to the “new studio” consumed much of the...
Read more

“Music affects the smallest as well as the largest things. In Planck’s world and in the entire universe. We make it, it makes us.”

(Frank Woelfer)

About the artist / press information

Frank Woelfer – trained carpenter, professional musician and teacher – is active as guitarist, keyboarder, composer and producer in live performances and studio recordings in a wide range of different music styles. Well-known due to the band Univerve with which he, amongst other things, performed as a support band for such famous acts as Saga, Manfred Mann, Simple Minds, Lake or Kraan and in 2007 received a prize at the German Rock & Pop Awards in the category “Best Progressive Rock Band 2007” (2nd place). In 2012 his debut album Unification was chosen as the “Best Jazz Rock Album 2012” (1st place) at the German Rock & Pop Awards. Furthermore, he received the award for “Best Instrumental Soloist 2012” (1st place). More positive reviews followed (for example in the German music magazines MusikZirkus, RockTimes and Gitarre&Bass (Act of the Month January 2013)).

In the summer of 2014 the second solo album The Human Factor was released, which continued along the line of the first album – this time purely instrumental – with Daniel Hopf (bass), Fabian Koke (drums) and Niklas Hauke (keys), who also form the current line-up of the Frank Woelfer Group. At the German Rock & Pop Awards 2014 this album received two prizes: “Best Instrumental Album 2014” (3rd place) and “Best Jazz Rock Album 2014” (1st place). Also, for the second time since 2012 , Woelfer was awarded the prize for “Best Instrumental Soloist 2014” (1st place) and was even presented with the honour of “Best Guitarist 2014” (1st place).

The third solo album (Fuego) from Frank Woelfer will be released in March 2017. It carries the title Multiverse and is, like its predecessor The Human Factor, purely instrumental, using different styles like, for example, Jazz, Blues, Electronic Music or Minimal Music and combines these together in a unique fashion. Apart from a few bass parts that again were contributed by the great Daniel Hopf, Woelfer played all the instruments on his new work himself. In contrast to his first two albums Unification and The Human Factor, Multiverse stands for less of a band sound and more for the focus on the creation of very different moods and sound combinations that are often

danceable and groove orientated but are also spiced with virtuosic guitar and bass parts, that will appeal to both enthusiasts of real “handmade” music as well as sound freaks and friends of atmospherically dense productions.

Live events from Frank Woelfer and from Univerve are due to take place in the second half of 2017. Information to that effect will appear on this page shortly.

 


Reviews:

Jazzrock TV (episode no. 84, 8/2014) about the second solo album:
“(…) this has really bowled us over! (…) one of the best German records this year!”

Joachim Joe Brookes (RockTimes, 9/2012):
“Frank Woelfer’s skills on his instrument are like an exciting book with many twists and turns. The man has class!”

Stephan Schelle (MusikZirkus Magazine 7/2014):
“(…) that the second release will be no problem, this Frank Woelfer proves on The Human Factor in an impressive way. He has collected ten instrumental pieces on this album, that all demonstrate high quality and combine Funk, Jazz Rock and Progressive Rock with ethnic elements. In addition there are plenty of great solos. What more can you ask for? I love his music because it effuses energy and wellbeing.”

Joachim Joe Brookes (RockTimes, 8/2014):
“(…) Frank Woelfer’s The Human Factor is a journey in the Microcosm and the universe. The means of transportation has been tanked with the fuel of fantasy and so turns almost sixty-five minutes of total playing time into a real event.”

Gitarre&Bass (one of the most important music trade magazines in Germany, January edition 2013) about the Unification album:
“(…) accompanied by competent colleagues Woelfer expertly rocks right away on the first track with great high-speed single note lines that remind one of Joe Satriani or Yngwie Malmsteen. In quiet pieces beautiful melody lines and long improvisations impress, often enriched with funky wah-wah passages. Woelfer’s phat distorted sound always has a jazzy impact. Very impressive on this accomplished album is the versatility of the skilled musician (…).”

 


Supports, awards & references

German Rock & Pop Awards:

3rd place: Best Instrumental Album 2014 (for my second solo album The Human Factor)
2nd place: Best Progressive Rock Band Univerve 2007
1st place: Best Instrumental Soloist 2012
1st place: Best Jazz Rock Album 2012 (for my first solo album Unification)
1st place: Best Jazz Rock Album 2014 (for my second solo album The Human Factor)
1st place: Best Instrumental Soloist 2014
1st place: Best Guitarist 2014

Gitarre&Bass (one of the most important music trade magazines in Germany, January edition 2013):
Act of the Month January 2013

He has shared the stage with the following bands to date:
Saga, Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, (Ex-) Simple Minds, Lake, Kraan & Helmut Hattler, Richie Arndt & Bluenatics, amongst others

MUSIC

Check it out …

On SoundCloud you will find further examples of songs from Frank Woelfer:

CD PRODUCTIONS

MULTIVERSE

The third solo album from Frank Woelfer is, like its predecessor The Human Factor, purely instrumental, using different styles like, for example, Jazz, Blues, Electronic Music or Minimal Music and combines these together in a unique fashion. Apart from a few bass parts that again were contributed by the great Daniel Hopf, Woelfer played all the instruments on his new work himself. In contrast to his first two albums Unification and The Human Factor, Multiverse stands for less of a band sound and more for the focus on the creation of very different moods and sound combinations that are often danceable and groove orientated but are also spiced with virtuosic guitar and bass parts, that will appeal to both enthusiasts of real “handmade” music as well as sound freaks and friends of atmospherically dense productions.

The album is to be released by Fuego (Bremen) and can be purchased on Amazon, as well as other online retailers, from the end of March 2017 and is available on all standard download and streaming portals like iTunes, TIDAL, Spotify, Deezer, etc.

THE HUMAN FACTOR

As previously on the debut album “Unification” (Fuego 2012), the guitarist, keyboarder and composer Frank Woelfer combines very different styles and song concepts on his second solo work “The Human Factor” (Fuego 2014) to form original music that this time presents itself in a purely instrumental fashion. Although groove, melody and sound dominate, the music occasionally sounds like fusion jazz from the 70s or like a suitable soundtrack for the educational TV programme Space Night. Often virtuosic and electric – but also acoustic and calm – Frank Woelfer creates these worlds of sound with his unique and expressive guitar playing.

Supported by the excellent rhythm section Daniel Hopf (bass), Fabian Koke (drums) and Niklas Hauke (keys), an organic band sound evolves, with which one can sense the skilful musicianship as much as the elaborate studio production.

UNIFICATION

Whether Pop, Fusion Jazz, Soul, Rock or Ambient – on Unification, the first solo album of the guitarist and composer Frank Woelfer, very different styles, moods and song concepts are not only skilfully combined together but are also deliberately placed in contrast to each other, without making this sound contradictory or even arbitrary, because it is all ONE music.

Danceable Pop songs, complex instrumental pieces and sentimental ballads: brought together on one album, on which Frank Woelfer forms a central theme with his expressive and distinctive guitar playing, supported by seven exceptional musicians and the wonderful soul singer Nora Saadhoff, who can be heard on four of the ten pieces.

I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Do you have any questions or comments or would you like to criticise something? Just send me an email using the contact form below or send a message directly to: info@frankwoelfer.de

Write a message

10 + 2 =

Herzlich willkommen auf der offiziellen Webseite von Frank Woelfer.
Hier erhaltet Ihr alle wichtigen Informationen über den Gitarristen, Komponisten und Lehrer Frank Woelfer.

Mein neues Album wird im März 2017 erscheinen

Im März dieses Jahres wird mein drittes Album erscheinen. Momentan entwickelt Chris Menke von PK Media das Artwork für das Albumcover. Die Aufnahmen sind soweit fertig, es fehlt noch das Pre-Mastering, welches derzeit in den Traveller Studios von Erhard Kanicki...
Weiterlesen

Update August 2016

Liebe Besucherin und lieber Besucher dieser Seite, danke für dein Interesse an meinen künstlerischen Aktivitäten! Es ist mal wieder an der Zeit für ein paar News: Inzwischen arbeite ich nun über ein Jahr an meinem dritten Album, wobei ich sagen muss, dass...
Weiterlesen

Frank Woelfer on TIDAL

Auf TIDAL kann man nun auch meine Musik streamen - wer mag, sogar in CD-Qualität! Das Musik-Portal TIDAL ist insgesamt sehr zu empfehlen, v. a. bei dem Abo mit verlustfreier Wiedergabe.  UNIVERVE findet man übrigens auch dort! http://listen.tidal.com   Darüber...
Weiterlesen

Update Juli 2015

Liebe(r) Besucher(in) dieser Seite, schön, dass du dich für Infos und Musik von mir interessierst! Danke. Aktuell stelle ich meine Heimstudio-Situation komplett um auf u. a. Mac/Logic/Universal Audio/Sennheiser. In Kürze - nach einer hoffentlich nur geringen...
Weiterlesen

Songs aus meinen Alben im Radio!

Das Internetradio Byte-FM hat am Samstag, den 4.4.2015 die Songs ``Forgiveness´´ und ``Touch´´ in der Sendung IN BETWEEN EARS vorgestellt ! Darüber hinaus lief ``Touch´´ auch mehrmals im Deutschlandradio Kultur. Auch auf anderen Sendern sind Stücke des Human Factor-...
Weiterlesen

Viermal nominiert, dreimal 1. Platz beim Deutschen Rock&Pop-Preis 2014!!

Zum diesjährigen Deutschen Rock&Pop-Preis bin ich mit 4 Nominierungen angereist.  Gestern war nun in der Siegerlandhalle Siegen die Preisverleihung. Das erfreuliche Ergebnis lautet: 3. Platz in der Kategorie ``Bestes Instrumental-Album 2014´´(für mein zweites...
Weiterlesen

Frank Woelfer auf Soundcloud

Seit Kurzem bin ich nun auch auf dem Portal SOUNDCLOUD mit einigen ausgewählten Stücken bzw. extra dafür zusammengestellten Tracks zu finden. Schaut/hört mal rein unter: https://soundcloud.com/frank-woelfer
Weiterlesen

Neue Reviews

In der aktuellen Folge von Jazzrock TV (Folge # 84) wird mein neues Album THE HUMAN FACTOR vorgestellt, neben Al Jarreau, Hiromi & Simon Phillips & Anthony Jackson und Lalo Schifrin. Zitat aus dieser Sendung: "...die hat uns echt umgehauen... eine der besten...
Weiterlesen

„Musik wirkt im Kleinsten wie im Größten. In der Planck-Welt und im gesamten Universum. Wir machen sie, sie macht uns (aus).“

(Frank Woelfer)

Zur Person/Presse-Info

Frank Woelfer – gelernter Tischler, studierter Musiker und Lehrer – ist als Gitarrist, Keyboarder, Komponist und Produzent in den unterschiedlichsten Stilbereichen live und im Studio aktiv. Bekannt geworden durch die Band UNIVERVE, mit der er u. a. Auftritte als Support von so namenhaften Acts wie Saga, Manfred Mann, Simple Minds, Lake oder Kraan gespielt hat und 2007 beim  Deutschen Rock&Pop-Preis in der Kategorie  „Beste Progressive-Rock-Band 2007″ (2. Platz) eine Auszeichnung erhielt. 2012 wurde sein Debutalbum UNIFICATION beim Deutschen Rock&Pop-Preis zum „Besten Jazz-Rock-Album 2012″ (1. Platz) gewählt. Darüber hinaus erhielt er die Auszeichnung als „Bester Instrumentalsolist 2012″ (1. Platz). Mehrere positive Rezensionen erfolgten (z. B. Musikzirkus, Rock-Times und Gitarre&Bass (Act des Monats Januar 2013)).

Im Sommer 2014 ist das zweite Soloalbum THE HUMAN FACTOR erschienen, welches die Linie des ersten Albums konsequent weiterführt – diesmal rein instrumental – mit Daniel Hopf (Bass), Fabian Koke (Drums) und Niklas Hauke (Keys), die auch die aktuelle Besetzung der FRANK WOELFER GROUP bilden. Beim Deutschen Rock&Pop-Preis 2014 erhielt dieses Album gleich zwei Auszeichnungen: „Bestes Instrumental-Album 2014″ (3. Platz) und „Bestes Jazz-Rock-Album 2014″ (1.Platz). Und auch dieses Mal – nach 2012 – wurde  Woelfer hier die Auszeichnung „Bester Instrumentalsolist 2014″ (1. Platz) und sogar die Ehrung „Bester Gitarrist 2014″ (1. Platz) zuerkannt.

Im März 2017 wird nun das dritte Soloalbum (FUEGO) von Frank Woelfer erscheinen. Es trägt den Titel MULTIVERSE und ist wie der Vorgänger The Human Factor ein rein instrumentales geworden, welches sich unterschiedlicher Stile wie z. B. dem Jazz, dem Blues, der Elektronischen Musik oder der Minimal Music bedient und diese auf einzigartige Weise miteinander verbindet. Bis auf einige Bass-Parts, die wieder der großartige Daniel Hopf beigesteuert hat, spielte Woelfer aber auf seinem neuen Werk alle Instrumente selbst ein. Denn im Gegensatz zu seinen ersten beiden Alben Unification und The Human Factor steht bei Multiverse weniger ein Band-Sound als vielmehr das Erzeugen von ganz unterschiedlichen Stimmungen und Klangkollagen im Focus, die oft tanzbar und groove-orientiert, aber auch mit virtuosen Gitarren- und Bass-Parts gewürzt sind, die sowohl Liebhaber echter, „handgemachter“ Musik als auch Soundfreaks und Freunde atmosphärisch dichter Produktionen ansprechen werden.

Live-Aktivitäten soll es von Frank Woelfer und von UNIVERVE in der zweiten Jahreshälfte 2017 auch wieder geben! Infos dazu in Kürze auf dieser Seite!

 


 

Zitate:

Jazzrock TV  (Folge # 84, 8/2014) über das zweite Solalbum:
„(…) die hat uns echt umgehauen! (…) eine der besten deutschen Platten dieses Jahr!!“

Joachim Joe Brookes (Rocktimes, 9/2012):
„Frank Woelfers Qualitäten auf seinem Instrument sind wie ein spannendes Buch mit vielen Akzenten und Wendungen. Der Mann hat Stil!“

Stephan Schelle (Musikzirkus-Magazin 7/2014):
„(…) Dass der Zweitling kein Problem sein muss, das beweist Frank Woelfer auf „The Human Factor“ in beeindruckender Weise. Er hat zehn Instrumentalstücke auf dem Album versammelt, die alle eine hohe Qualität aufweisen und Funk, Jazzrock und Progressive Rock mit ethnischen Elementen verbindet. Dazu gibt es reichlich tolle Soli. Was will man also mehr? Ich liebe seine Musik, denn sie verbreitet Energie und Wohlbefinden.“

Joachim Joe Brookes (Rocktimes, 8/2014):
„(…) Frank Woelfers „The Human Factor“ ist eine Reise in den Mikrokosmos und das Universum. Das dazu benutzte Fahrzeug ist mit Treibstoff der Marke Fantasie aufgetankt worden und so werden knapp fünfundsechzig Minuten Gesamtspielzeit zu einem echten Ereignis.“

Gitarre&Bass (eine der wichtigsten Fachzeitschriften in Deutschland, Januarausgabe 2013) über das UNIFICATION-Album:    
„(…) Begleitet von kompetenten Mitmusikern rockt Wölfer gleich in der ersten Nummer virtuos ab mit tollen HiSpeed-Singlenote-Lines, die an Joe Satriani oder Yngwie Malmsteen erinnern. In ruhigen Stücken beeindrucken schöne Melodielinien und lange Improvisationen, öfters veredelt mit funky WahWah-Passagen. Dabei hat Wölfers fett verzerrter Sound stets jazzigen Einschlag. Sehr beeindruckend auf diesem gelungenem Album ist die Vielseitigkeit des studierten Musikers (…).“

 


 

Supports, Preise & Referenzen

Deutscher Rock&Pop-Preis:
3. Platz:  Bestes Instrumentalalbum 2014 (für das zweite Solo-Album THE HUMAN FACTOR)
2. Platz:  Beste Progressive Rock Band Univerve 2007
1. Platz:  Bester Instrumentalsolist 2012
1. Platz:  Bestes Jazz-Rock-Album 2012 (für das erste Solo-Album UNIFICATION)
1. Platz:  Bestes Jazz-Rock-Album 2014 (für das zweite Solo-Album THE HUMAN FACTOR)
1. Platz:  Bester Instrumentalsolist 2014
1. Platz:  Bester Gitarrist 2014

Gitarre&Bass (eine der wichtigsten Fachzeitschriften in Deutschland, Januarausgabe 2013):
Act des Monats Januar 2013

Mit folgenden Bands hat er bisher die Bühne geteilt:
Saga, Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, (Ex-) Simple Minds, Lake, Kraan & Helmut Hattler, Richie Arndt & Bluenatics u. a.

 

MUSIK

Zum Reinhören…

Auf Soundcloud finden Sie noch weitere Songbeispiele von Frank Woelfer:

CD-PRODUKTIONEN

MULTIVERSE

Auch das dritte Soloalbum von Frank Woelfer ist wie der Vorgänger The Human Factor ein rein instrumentales geworden, welches sich unterschiedlicher Stile wie z. B. dem Jazz, dem Blues, der Elektronischen Musik oder der Minimal Music bedient und diese auf einzigartige Weise miteinander verbindet. Bis auf einige Bass-Parts, die wieder der großartige Daniel Hopf beigesteuert hat, spielte Woelfer aber auf seinem neuen Werk alle Instrumente selbst ein. Denn im Gegensatz zu seinen ersten beiden Alben Unification und The Human Factor steht bei Multiverse weniger ein Band-Sound als vielmehr das Erzeugen von ganz unterschiedlichen Stimmungen und Klangkollagen im Focus, die oft tanzbar und groove-orientiert, aber auch mit virtuosen Gitarren- und Bass-Parts gewürzt sind, die sowohl Liebhaber echter, „handgemachter“ Musik als auch Soundfreaks und Freunde atmosphärisch dichter Produktionen ansprechen werden.

Erscheint bei FUEGO (Bremen) und ist als Tonträger u. a. bei Amazon ab Ende März 2017 erhältlich und auf allen gängigen Download- und Streaming-Portalen wie iTunes, TIDAL, Spotify, Deezer etc. verfügbar!

 

THE HUMAN FACTOR

Wie schon auf dem Debut-Album “Unification“ (Fuego 2012), verbindet der Gitarrist, Keyboarder und Komponist Frank Woelfer auch auf seinem zweiten Solo-Werk “The Human Factor“ (Fuego 2014) ganz unterschiedliche Stile und Song-Konzeptionen zu einer eigenständigen Musik, die sich dieses Mal rein instrumental präsentiert. Dabei dominieren Groove, Melodie und Sound, mitunter klingt es nach Fusion-Jazz der 70er Jahre  oder aber nach einem für die Space-Night auf BR Alpha geeigneten Soundtrack. Oft virtuos und elektrisch – aber auch akustisch und ruhig – prägt Frank Woelfer mit seinem eigenständigen und ausdrucksstarken Gitarrenspiel diese Klangwelten.
Dabei unterstützt von der exzellenten Rhythmusgruppe Daniel Hopf (Bass), Fabian Koke (Drums) und Niklas Hauke (Keys), entsteht  ein organischer Band-Sound, bei dem man handwerkliche Spielkunst ebenso spürt wie die aufwändige Studio-Produktion.

UNIFICATION

Ob Pop, Fusion-Jazz, Soul, Rock oder auch Ambient – auf UNIFICATION, dem ersten Soloalbum des Gitarristen und Komponisten Frank Woelfer, werden ganz unterschiedliche Stile, Stimmungen und Song-Konzeptionen gekonnt miteinander vereinigt oder aber bewusst gegenüber gestellt, ohne dass dies hier widersprüchlich oder gar willkürlich klingt, weil eben EINE Musik.
Von tanzbaren Popsongs über komplexe Instrumentalstücke bis zu gefühlvoll interpretierten Balladen: zusammengeführt auf einem Album, auf dem Frank Woelfer mit seinem ausdrucksstarken und unverwechselbaren Gitarrenspiel den roten Faden bildet, unterstützt von 7 hervorragenden Musikern und der wunderbaren Soul-Sängerin Nora Saadhoff, die auf 4 der 10 Stücke zu hören ist.

Ich freue mich, von Ihnen zu hören.

Sie haben Fragen, Kommentare oder Kritik? Schreiben Sie mir doch einfach eine E-Mail über das unten stehende Kontaktformular oder direkt eine Nachricht an info@frankwoelfer.de

Schreiben Sie mir eine Nachricht

13 + 7 =